top of page

"The American Dream" is always in our hearts


Getting the news Thursday, June 11, 2015 that Dusty Rhodes "The American Dream" had passed tore at my heart. At almost 50 yrs old, more than half my life has been known as The Wrasslin Queen. I am a diehard Old School wrasslin fan & very proud of it! A big part of my childhood died when Dusty passed. Or "Big Dust" as I loved to call him when he came on tv.

Dusty IS my brother's all time favorite wrestler. There is no one & I mean no one that my brother screamed like a girl over more than Big Dust. LOL! We bonded over wrestling while we dealt with chaos sometimes in our household.

Wrasslin was my escape from bad things going on in my life. I could turn on the tv or go to a live event & forget all my troubles. Steamboat, Flair, Dusty, Briscoes, Johnny Weaver, Harley Race, Wahoo, etc made my childhood bearable.

Fans talk about these guys today & cutting great promos... oh hell no! They ALL need to get in line behind Big Dust! The man could have you in tears laughing or get you so absorbed in what he was saying that you believed his elbow was really bionic! He wasn't the greatest wrestler but buddy Big Dust could go past 30 mins & have 30 more to give ya!!! He was so fun to watch in the ring when he would strut & move that body of his in a clever way. But when he wrestled, you knew the man wasn't playing around.

Between him & Flair, the bleeding was unreal but man it entertained you. If Big Dust didn't bleed in a match, you were surprised. His classic matches with Flair were my favorites. His speech about "Hard Times" was heartfelt & raw!

There are no words to speak to say how proud I am that I am from the Big Dust era of REAL wrasslin! My heart truly loved Big Dust & all the hrs he gave to entertain me while I was going thru alot. Prayers go out to his family & may they know that he was an iconic figure that TRULY will NEVER be duplicated.

"Big Dust" I hope your soul is at peace & we will miss that voice & that pretty smile "If you willllll".


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page